7 Decades of Formula 1 - Part 2

Topps Official 12-04-2021



Decade 5 (1990-2000): The Watershed Moment


The Prost & Senna rivalry ended in 1993 when Alaine Prost retired. But it was the 1994 San Marino Grand Prix, Italy that was the eventful for the wrong reasons


 A day before the race, Rubens Barrichello during the practice clipped a kerb and crashed. Emergency work done by the doctor saved his life. In the qualifying session next afternoon, Roland Ratzenberger died when struck the concrete wall, as a result of a suspected front wing failure.


On the race day, Senna's car struck the wall nearly head-on and ricocheted back onto the track. Senna was motionless and was extracted by the doctor within 2 minutes of the crash. He was pronounced dead later in the day.


In the aftermath of Ayrton Senna’s shocking 1994 death, a series of new rules were announced for the safety of drivers.


The 90's also brought Michael Schumacher to the fore, who won back to back titles in 1994 & 1995.



Decade 6 (2000-10): Schumacher & Ferrari


Michael Schumacher and Ferrari, won an unprecedented five consecutive drivers' championships and six consecutive constructors' championships between 1999 and 2004. 


Schumacher set many new records, including those for most Grand Prix wins (91, later broken by Lewis Hamilton), wins in a season (thirteen of eighteen), and most Drivers' Championships (seven, tied with Lewis Hamilton as of 2020). Fernando Alonso became Formula One broke Schumacher's streak in 2005 by becoming the youngest champion at that time.


This record was later broken by Lewis Hamilton in 2008 & subsequently by Sebastian Vettel in 2010.


Decade 7 (2010-20): Turbo Charged Again


Sebastian Vettel with Red Bull won four consecutive titles from 2010 to 2013, the first of which made him the sport's youngest World Champion. He also holds the record for the most consecutive race wins (9) and most wins in a single season (13).


Formula One entered its second turbocharged era in 2014. With Lewis Hamilton at the helm, the Mercedes team (Lewis Hamilton, Nico Rosberg and Valtteri Bottas) have dominated the decade by winning 102 of the 138 races (73 for Hamilton, 20 for Rosberg and 9 for Bottas). 


Lewis Hamilton won his seventh drivers' title in 2020, equalling the record set by Schumacher. He also holds the record for the most wins (95), pole positions (98) and podium finishes (165), amongst others.


Which has been your favourite decade? Which was the most memorable race you witnessed. Share with us in the comments below.

Leave a comment

Please rotate your device

We don't support portrait mode yet. Please go back to landscape mode for the best experience.